Things New and Old

One of the most frequent questions people ask when they find out I’m moving to England is, “Won’t you miss ____?” The answer is probably yes. I actually enjoy my life here in Indiana and I’m happy; I just like going new places and experiencing new things. So of course I will miss the people and places I love here: my friends, coworkers, family, apartment, cat, etc. But every choice you make comes with a trade-off – so for everything I miss, something new and interesting will take its place, and I will probably make new friends and favorite places during my year in London. So it’s worth it.

There’s the obvious major stuff, and there is the little stuff that one doesn’t normally think about. I’m noticing things as moving time gets closer, and I thought I’d put in list form. What I’m giving and getting. It may be therapeutic.

I will miss bike rides. The feel of the wind through my hair and view of beautiful, calm suburban paths and parks as I ride down the long, flat bike trail near where I live.

 

but I’ll enjoy efficient public transportation to take you anywhere. This comes in especially handy after a night at the pubs.

underground humor

I will miss having two monitors and my own big cubicle at the office.

multiple monitors

but I’ll enjoy an extra bank holiday, plus more if any royalty happens to get married.

royal wedding

I will miss Pandora. Why must my favorite music streaming service be blocked in the UK?

Pandoracat listening to music

But I’ll enjoy the BBC and other channels you automatically get if you have a TV. In addition to Doctor Who, who doesn’t like a good British reality show about teenagers learning to drive on the “wrong” side of the road in the midst of partying?

david tennant

I will miss asking for water and just getting water, not – “Still or sparkling? Tap or bottled? Ice or no ice?” as though preferences are as individual as tea.

tap water

But I’ll enjoy Pret a Manger, a fantastic sandwich/wrap place. I will have to stop myself from eating there every day.

pret a manger poster

I will miss NPR. I listen to it constantly when I’m in the car; I especially love the shows Radiolab, This American Life, Fresh Air with Terry Gross, and A Way with Words. I’ll try to listen to podcasts in the UK, but it won’t be the same.

a goat on a cow

But I’ll enjoy the delicious English baked goods like crumpets, biscuits (cookies), and scones.

lolcat crumpets

As you can see, I’ll miss the States, but I think I’ll be okay!

Leave a Reply

