Eating in London: It’s a lot tastier than you think

The man who can dominate a London dinner-table can dominate the world.

~ Oscar Wilde

As a follow-up to my post about my top 10 things to do in London, I also want to talk about food! You’ll need to eat when you’re there, of course. I want to emphasize that the old stereotype that British food is bad has changed extensively in the last couple of decades, according to many food critics (not just me!). There are now many fantastic, high quality restaurants with dedicated chefs, and my favorite part, a huge variety of convenient food. Here’s what I recommend where food is concerned:

  • Fish and Chips – Maybe just have fish and chips once, and make sure it’s somewhere good, not just a tourist trap! Poppies Fish and Chips is a great one, with locations in both Camden and near Old Spitalfields Market.
  • Indian – Fun fact, Chicken Tikka Masala is a British dish, and is more popular with locals than fish and chips. One of my favorite Indian spots is Mala, right next to the Tower Bridge and a great stop after your visit there.
Vegetarian Indian platter in London

Veg curry deliciousness at Mala

  • Food on the go – You’ll likely be busy running around London and seeing all the amazingness it has to offer, so pop into a Pret A Manger (my favorite cafe chain), Tesco, or Sainsbury’s (these are grocery stores, and you will likely walk by some as you explore) and grab a sandwich when you’re on your way somewhere. My favorite is the very British cheese and pickle, which is much tastier than it sounds. Also check out the snacks that are unique to Britain – I miss the cheese and onion crisps and Starbars! Central London is full of busy working people who love their quality convenience food.
British snacks

Some of my favorite British snacks!

  • Vegetarian – As a vegetarian, I found London to be very accommodating and offered veg options everywhere I went, which really blew me away compared to most places I’ve been. Even an average pub will always have something – I once randomly ordered a Mushroom Wellington (a veg version of a British dish) that was one of my favorite dishes I ever had in London, but it was a pretty average pub otherwise! There are also several vegetarian and vegan restaurants in the city, though I didn’t get a chance to try many of those.
  • Classic English – I also just have to call out my favorite restaurant in London, Great Queen Street. Their menu is full of classic British dishes, but with great quality and service. Make sure to get a reservation ahead of time; they’re very popular!
Great Queen Street menu

Menu sampling from Great Queen Street (they change it regularly)

I’m getting hungry thinking about all this!

One thought on “Eating in London: It’s a lot tastier than you think

Leave a Reply

