Hold on to your koalas; there’s a change in plans!

12764579_10106768947082649_2398429727919121814_o (1)

Huggable-looking koala at a small zoo in the Blue Mountains

So, after a lot of thought, I’ve decided to backpack around Australia for the next two months, and after that, who knows. I’m feeling good about this decision. I want to make it clear that I’m actually having a great time (if you’ve been following me on facebook or even just looking at the pictures here on my blog, I’m sure you can tell), because I talked about a lot of my concerns in my last post. Mainly, though, it comes down to two things: 1) I’m having such a great time that I am excited to see more of the country, and 2) once I started looking at rooms, the reality of working from a home office in a small room long term and not being able to travel much hit me, and I don’t think I would be very happy doing that. Jasmine (my cat) will probably be okay for the next couple of months and possibly after that if I decide to stay longer.

Now, I’m starting to plan this new adventure, and the country is wide open! I’m here in Melbourne through the end of the week, and then I’m thinking a trip to Tasmania, and then meeting up with my friend Steph, who’s visiting from England, for some traveling with her.

Now you know the news and I can tell you about my day today! I did a bike tour all around the city and loved it. Not only did I learn what a cycling-friendly city it is (wide streets, parks, and bike lanes everywhere) but also how progressive it is. Fun fact: Australia was the first country to allow women to vote (though that was an accident, and more officially they’re the third country to allow women to vote, but still) and Melbourne was the first place in the world to institute an 8-hour workday. So we biked all around the city, I met a bunch of super friendly international people including another American, several Dutch people, a Brit, a couple Aussies, and a Canadian. I think Australia may be the friendliest place I’ve been to, and even the tourists are extra friendly. And we even had lunch in the middle of the tour, which was awesome because you know how much I love food. Here was my favorite view at the Shrine of Remembrance:

Leave a Reply

